Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Are you a Yes Man/Woman?

... Well are you? Are you an undercover 'yes person'; like you don't even realize it? If you have a tendency to just say yes to your boss & agree with their every thought to get them off your back you've got the wrong idea.. All your doing is causing yourself more grief and your co workers too!!!......

How so? 
- When you get to your desk all your gonna do is gripe & complain about the situation annoying your co workers & yourself alike. 
- When it ends up coming out bad (there's a 50/50 chance your boss has a bad idea) who do you think will get blamed??... Ummmm you!! Why would your boss take the fall they're gonna say "Well (insert name here) thought it was a great idea!' "Right (insert name here)?"
- Your going to complain that you never get to express yourself artistically... Much to the annoyance to of yourself & your co workers.. 

So stop!! 

My co worker is just a yes woman. She always says yes when my boss makes the most ludicrous demands & I'm always like you should have said no or you didn't like it. Often I'm quiet in meetings for a while.. Why 1. I like to let people talk themselves into their own graves. 2. I'm listening to what your saying for future reference. 3. When it most counts I WILL speak up! I'm not one for speaking to hear my own voice. 

Get it together guys & Gals!


_Alice 

Sunday, October 13, 2013

DREAMS & ASPIRATIONS

I love working in the fashion industry and being a designer for other people & brands.. I’m learning A LOT about the business & myself as a person.
BUT I am NOT the girl that can work for someone else forever. I have major aspirations to have my own fashion design house & my own employees & I will take all I’ve learned over the years with me.
In saying all that I CANNOT wait until I have my own company to run.. I’m learning all the ways NOT to do things by watching various other people.
In my offices ppl can sit on those exercise ball things if they want to, roles will be more defined, annual reviews will be mandatory (it’s really good to know where you stand), team building trips & activities will be scheduled to keep moral up, & seriously HOLIDAY parties are going to be off the chain!! Oh & ppl sit where ever they want! Boss’s at the head of the table is so narcissistic!! Like seriously ppl know you sign the checks get over yourself!
_Alice

EFFECTIVE MEETING TECHNIQUES… NOT!

So yesterday as I said I was in a meeting for 2.5 hrs..
Initially I had NO IDEA the subject matter of the meeting BUT when your told to be somewhere you bring your pen & your pad & you go!
I get to the meeting & find out its a recap of the buyers meeting with “K-Mart” earlier in the week. So I’m thinking it should be about 30 mins total I mean they didn’t go over too much new product.. Oh I didn’t mention this meeting started at 12 NOON!! So yeah… Lunch time soon come.
Anyway by 12:40 we’ve discussed 1 shoe & the higher ups are rambling in 200 different directions spinning their wheels on various product for OTHER retailers.. At this point I’m starving & I’ve tuned out because I mean no one is talking about ANYTHING that concerns me, and I don’t think anyone involved can recall what the meeting was supposed to be about, plus I’m STARVING!!
Sooo what have we accomplished? Effective Meeting guys & gals.. I think NOT.
Oh & for the record at the end of that 2.5hr we only discussed 2 of 10 shoes we were supposed to review after the “K-Mart” meeting.. Genius’
_Alice

THAT MOMENT WHEN...

Your in a meeting with all the higher ups & your boss looks like a scared little child being scolded by a parent aka THEIR boss!!
*You almost feel bad for them but then you say to yourself
it’s their fault they weren’t through about what needed to be done..
_Alice

JOB DESCRIPTION

Sometimes I think my job description is: Do whatever my boss is supposed to do and tell her what to say in important meetings.


_Alice

MY INSPIRATION

So… I’ll be posting A LOT today & this weekend because since I started this new gig I told myself I’ve got to get these thoughts out.. & I could do a personal journal but where’s the fun in that!? Plus I know other people feel my pain!!
I was in a 2.5hr meeting yesterday (you’ll hear more about that in upcoming posts) & I said ppl need to hear this. So enjoy, like, comment, laugh!!
I hope once I post all of my written rants I get into more of a flow so I’m posting once or twice a day.. So wish me luck!
_Alice

THAT MOMENT WHEN…

Your boss just agrees with her boss because she doesn’t want to be in trouble even though EVERYONE else knows she JUST said the opposite in the previous meeting.
_ Alice

THAT MOMENT WHEN…

Your boss has NO idea what she’s talking about… While asking other ppl to fully explain what SHE’S talking about!! you just blank stare until its over so you can go back to what was ACTUALLY important.
It’s like NO ONE knows what you’re talking about or rendering to INCLUDING you!!
Ughhh Le Sigh.
_Alice

THE AMERICAN HEALTHCARE SYSTEM IS STOOPID!!

I started a new job in April.. Got laid off after 4 mos which means I only had 1 month if health coverage. I was in employed for 2 weeks then landed my current position which overalls I am happy about BUT why do companies wait the federally mandated 3mos for healthcare benefits to kick in?! Have some sympathy ppl my best friend works in a spa & received benefits after a MONTH!! A flipping spa has better health coverage than a major fashion company!?
‘Comeon son!!
In that month of health coverage I didn’t get to see all my doctors by far & now 3 more mos before I possibly have a chance to see them again UNLESS I pay CRAZY out of pocket fees!!
I need to see a dentist so badly!! Gosh my teeth hurt!! :’(
_Alice


PS – If one more privileged ass white person tells me I should wait for and/or sign up for “ObamaCare” this little brown girl is gonna strangle them with the same sarcastic smile they have me!!

ABUSIVE RELATIONSHIPS

In fashion there’s ALWARS yelling & cursing & yelling. There’s a fine line between professional & unprofessional workplace etiquette.
The fighting & yelling I hear from my cubicle on a DAILY bases is that of a neighbor listening to the domestic violence of a next door neighbor.. Do you call the police? Will any one care? Is it my business? I don’t want to get yelled at I just got here! Sometimes I feel like I should scream out "Daddy stop Yelling at Mommy!!" For perfect effect.
_Alice

QUESTIONS & QUOTES

A TOTALLY comfortable work environment in the fashion industry… Does THAT exist
_Alice

SPANDEX, SPANDEX, NOTHING BUT SPANDEX!!

My new boss only wears Spandex & see thru tops!!
It’s like your in your early 50′s STOP IT!! I mean she has a good body for her age but leggings every day with some sort of see thru top EVERYDAY!!
To be fair sometimes she wears leather with stretch in it. But gheesh! Dress your age & SLIGHTLY professional. It’s the fashion industry so ppl get too free.
_Alice

HELLO

So I’ve been working in the fashion industry for some years now and i’ve seen some crazy shit, done some crazy shit, and heard some crazy shit and I always have commentary in my head so I thought this would be a great place to spill the tea. 
This blog is completely anonymous (because I want to keep my damn job of course) I DO LOVE FASHION! So lets be cool with calling me ‘Alice’ 
Please note that all names and brands have been changed for the safety of the little people that are employed by the industry we love. 
Some stories are from my past and or the past/present of my friends in the industry. 
Enjoy going down the rabbit hole that is the fashion industry!! 


_ Alice